Theatre

Building on a long tradition which is anchored in the national and international cultural landscapes, the theatre department of the Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles proposes a varied and divers approach to the performing arts, in line with the professional performance world.


Thanks to a variety of methodologies and tools, incorporating texts from the classical repertoire, modern and original writing, together with a reflective approach to teaching, students in the theatre department can develop the technical and artistic skills and knowledge which are necessary for them to become the theatre-makers of the future. 

Performance is the extension of a creative act.
Jacques Lecoq

The learning process encourages students to follow their own path and develop a unique approach to artistic work and multiple aesthetics. Courses in performance and stage skills are supported by training in performance technique (vocal training ; movement for the stage ; physical expression), and by theoretical courses which allow the future artists to situate themselves in relation to the cultural and social contexts of the past, present and future.

Discover a typical week


The Courants d’airs festival is organised by the Conservatoire in collaboration with the Centre des Arts scéniques. It acts as a real stepping stone towards professional life, allowing students to develop their own innovative shows, and giving space to a new generation of artists.

Images of the courants d'airs festival


THEATRE FACULTY

The theatre faculty of the Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles is made up of artists who are active in the profession, including representatives from a variety of theatres in Brussels and the French-speaking world. Our teachers run workshops abroad (in Europe, in Africa and at international conferences such as META, alongside famoust European theatre schools). In addition to the core faculty who ensure that the training course has proper coherence and continuity, we also regularly invite guest teachers from Belgium and abroad, who are specialists in a variety of disciplines (puppet theatre, dance theatre, acrobatics, cinema...).

Contact the department

Discover the faculty


Thanks to the high level and broad nature of the training they receive, former students of the Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles are regularly to be seen in a number of professional domains related to performance (theatre, cinema, TV series, spoken word, mime, song) as well as working as teachers.

Requirements for the entrance examinations 2018-2019:
Admission

Course specifications for theatre and spoken word:
Bachelier Master

Théâtre

Fort d’une longue tradition ancrée dans le paysage culturel national et international, le département Théâtre du Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles propose une approche multiple et diversifiée des arts de la scène, miroir des mondes du spectacle.


Grâce à des méthodologies et supports de travail variés, grâce à une alternance de textes de répertoire classique, moderne et de créations personnelles, grâce à une réflexion pédagogique constante, les étudiants acquièrent les compétences et les connaissances techniques et artistiques indispensables à la création de demain. 

L’interprétation est le prolongement d’un acte créateur.
Jacques Lecoq

Les apprentissages invitent à dessiner un chemin et à développer une singularité dans des démarches artistiques et des esthétiques plurielles. Les cours d’interprétation et de pratiques de la scène sont soutenus par des cours de techniques artistiques (formation vocale ; mouvement scénique ; expression corporelle), et par des cours théoriques qui permettent à l’artiste en devenir de se situer dans le monde culturel et social d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Découvrir une semaine type


Le festival Courants d’airs organisé par le Conservatoire en collaboration avec le Centre des Arts scéniques, agit comme un véritable tremplin professionnel et permet aux étudiants de développer des spectacles novateurs, témoins d’une nouvelle génération d’artiste.

Courants d'airs en images


Dans les coulisses du département Théâtre du Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles


ÉQUIPE ENSEIGNANTE

L’équipe enseignante du Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles est active dans le métier, représentative des nombreuses scènes théâtrales bruxelloises et de la francophonie. Elle anime des ateliers à l’étranger (en Europe, en Afrique et dans des colloques internationaux tel que le META, au côté d'écoles européennes renommées) ; en sus de cette équipe assurant la cohérence et la continuité de la formation, sont régulièrement appelés des intervenants extérieurs, spécialistes dans une discipline particulière (marionnette, danse théâtre, acrobatie, cinéma…), belges ou étrangers.

Contactez le département

Découvrez les enseignants


Grâce à une formation dont la base est large et exigeante, les anciens étudiants du Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles travaillent régulièrement dans de nombreux domaines liés au monde du spectacle (au théâtre, au cinéma, dans des séries télévisées ; en parole, en mime, en chanson) ainsi que comme professeurs.

> Les prochaines "Portes ouvertes" auront lieu dans le cadre des évaluations publiques du mois de juin.
 

Programme de l'épreuve d'admission 2018-2019 :
Admission

Programmes d'études des cursus Théâtre et arts de la parole :
Bachelier Master